2020-2021 PALSave Open Educator Award Recipients Named

PALSave has named eight faculty members from five PALNI schools recipients of the “PALSave Open Educator Award” for the 2020-2021 academic year.  The Open Educator Award recognizes innovation and excellence in support of textbook affordability and student success. 

The awards go to:

NameInstitutionAward Category
Laura HerderButler UniversityOpen Education Champion
James McGrathButler UniversityOpen Textbook Author
Brian WeidnerButler UniversityOpen Textbook Author
Humberto BarretoDePauw UniversityOpen Textbook Author
John Ross BuschertGoshen CollegeOpen Education Champion
Alejandra Rodriguez-VillarHanover CollegeOpen Pedagogy Innovator
Valerie YoungHanover CollegeOpen Education Champion
Matthew DeLongMarian University Open Education Champion

Three categories of awards were given: Open Education Champion, Open Textbook Publisher, and Open Pedagogy Innovator. The Open Education Champion award was bestowed to faculty who adopted and integrated open educational resources (OERs) into their courses and advocated for their use with colleagues. The Open Textbook Author was awarded to those who created their own open textbook and/or course materials. The Open Pedagogy Innovator award was given to a professor who, already using open textbooks for course materials, empowered and facilitated the creation of a student-created open textbook as a classroom assignment.

We thank them for their participation and innovative work in open education with PALSave!

2020-2021 PALSave Open Educator Award Recipients Named
Scroll to top